News Stories

February 15, 2019

by Joe Michaels

On any given night in California, more than 130,000 people are without a home. Walk through a homeless encampment and you'll find many of the residents with dogs or cats.

Gina Knepp of Sacramento's Front Street Animal Shelter knows most of those living on the streets aren’t shy about staying outside if a shelter won't let them bring their animal indoors.

“In most cases, that animal is the only connection to another living thing they have,” said Knepp.

February 6, 2019

by Andrew Sheeler

A California law straight out of the Wild West could soon be no more. A state lawmaker is calling for the repeal of a law that makes it a crime to refuse to help the police.

The California Posse Comitatus Act of 1872 makes it a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 for “an able-bodied person 18 years of age or older” to refuse to comply with a cop’s call for assistance in making an arrest, recapturing a suspect fleeing custody “or preventing a breach of the peace or the commission of any criminal offense.”

January 22, 2019

by Olivia Herstein

“The earthquake is inevitable. But the disaster is not.”

As always, seismologist and earthquake preparedness expert Lucy Jones got straight to the point. Along with State Sen. Bob Hertzberg (D-Van Nuys), Los Angeles Deputy Mayor Jeff Gorell and numerous other elected officials, the former U.S. Geological Survey scientist visited California State University, Northridge on Thursday afternoon to stand with CSUN President Dianne F. Harrison and commemorate the 25th anniversary of the Northridge earthquake.

January 15, 2019

by Kevin Modesti

After more than a decade out of public office, Bob Hertzberg strode back into Sacramento four years ago to find state politics had changed. The game was different, with new rules and a new online playing field. The players were new, too, and no longer called him Mr. Speaker.

Not all of them enjoyed what he viewed as a friendly hug, the way human beings used to.

September 11, 2018

SACRAMENTO (CBS13) — California will be looking into the risks posed to the state’s electrical system by a geomagnetic storm or an electromagnetic pulse attack.

Gov. Jerry Brown signed Senate Bill 1076 into law on Wednesday. The bill calls for the state’s Offices of Emergency Services to look into the risk of an EMP attack or a geomagnetic storm that could wipe out portions of the state’s power grid.

August 28, 2018

SAN FRANCISCO — California on Tuesday became the first state to fully abolish cash bail, a step that backers said would create a more equitable criminal justice system, one less dependent on a person’s wealth.

“Today, California reforms its bail system so that rich and poor alike are treated fairly,” said Gov. Jerry Brown, who signed the California Money Bail Reform Act into law on Tuesday.

August 22, 2018

(UPDATE: A landmark bill to eliminate bail for some offenses was approved by the Senate and sent to Gov. Brown’s desk.)

On any given day, thousands of jailed people are awaiting trial, sentencing or hearings in any of California’s 58 counties. Many are in custody because they cannot afford to post bail.

Legislation to allow people to be free while their case is in the Legislature and its fate will be decided by midnight Aug. 31 when lawmakers adjourn.

August 16, 2018

By Sophia Bollag

California would be the first state to completely end money bail for defendants awaiting trial under a proposal unveiled Thursday that would create a new system to instead jail people based on their risk level.

Under the proposal, most suspects accused of nonviolent misdemeanors would be released within 12 hours of being booked in jail. People accused of serious, violent felonies would not be eligible for pretrial release.

August 2, 2018

by Kacey Gardner

Think about your everyday digital footprint: You pull up Facebook to see what your friends are up to and read the news, use your credit card to buy groceries and Google a stray thought.

All of your purchases, interactions and web searches rely on an exchange of information between you and the company providing the service. And it’s not always clear what personal details are collected, where that information goes and how it’s used.

June 28, 2018

SAN FRANCISCO — California has passed a digital privacy law granting consumers more control over and insight into the spread of their personal information online, creating one of the most significant regulations overseeing the data-collection practices of technology companies in the United States.

The bill raced through the State Legislature without opposition on Thursday and was signed into law by Gov. Jerry Brown, just hours before a deadline to pull from the November ballot an initiative seeking even tougher oversight over technology companies.

California State Senate Majority Caucus © 2015 | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Statement | Register to Vote