Hertzberg and Yee Agree: Time to Stop Kicking the Can Down the Road!

Modernizing the tax structure is crucial for stabilizing the state budget, growing revenues and avoiding deep cuts during economic downturns

June 9, 2016

SACRAMENTO – Sen. Bob Hertzberg, D-Van Nuys, issued the following statement concerning state Controller Betty Yee’s report today on tax reform:

“Controller Betty Yee and I agree: It’s time to make the tough decisions on tax reform. It’s time to stop kicking the can down the road! The present system is not fair to Californians, and to continue with this unstable system that produces wildly fluctuating, zig-zag revenues will hurt Californians and the services they depend on and will undercut the state’s future.”

“I compliment Yee and her Council of Economic Advisors on Tax Reform for taking a comprehensive, sober look at California’s tax structure, its volatility and its inequities. This report leaves no doubt that the present tax system is woefully out of date, inherently unfair and in desperate need of reform.”


Bob Hertzberg, chair of the Senate Committee on Governance and Finance, represents nearly 1 million San Fernando Valley residents of Senate District 18, which includes part of Burbank and the following communities in Los Angeles: Arleta, Granada Hills, Hansen Dam, Lake View Terrace, Mission Hills, North Hills, North Hollywood, part of Northridge, Pacoima, Panorama City, Sherman Oaks, Studio City, part of Sun Valley, Sylmar, Toluca Lake, Valley Glen, Valley Village, Van Nuys, the City of San Fernando and Universal City. See a district map at http://sd18.senate.ca.gov/district.  After serving in the Assembly from 1996-2002, including two years as Speaker, Hertzberg invested in solar, wind and electric-car projects; and worked for structural changes in government through the Think Long Committee of California. Learn more at www.senate.ca.gov/hertzberg.

Communications Director
Senator Robert M. Hertzberg
Capitol Building, Room 4038
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 651-4018


California State Senate Majority Caucus © 2015 | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Statement | Register to Vote