Hertzberg Names CSUN President Dr. Dianne Harrison 18th Senate District Woman of the Year

March 4, 2019

SACRAMENTO – Senate Majority Leader Bob Hertzberg (D-Van Nuys) announced today that he has named California State University, Northridge President Dr. Dianne F. Harrison as the 2019 Woman of the Year for the 18th Senate District.

“In a community full of extraordinary female leaders, I can think of few more deserving of this honor than Dianne Harrison,” said Senator Hertzberg. “President Harrison is the fiercest advocate CSUN could ask for, and has achieved so much in terms of solidifying the school’s place as a cornerstone in our community.”

Dr. Harrison began her appointment in June 2012 and is the fifth president in the institution’s 60-year history. Known for her commitment to students, academic excellence and strategic leadership, Dr. Harrison has a reputation for building strong partnerships with public and private organizations, enabling students, faculty, and staff to cross institutional boundaries and engage in innovative instruction. Nearly 60,000 students have earned their degrees since Dr. Harrison became CSUN’s president in 2012. A national higher education leader, Dr. Harrison serves on numerous boards, including the American Council on Education, the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education, and the Los Angeles County Economic Development Corporation.

“I’m proud to be a part of the largest public university system in the country, one that now has the majority of its 23 campuses led by women,” Harrison said. “I deeply appreciate Senator Hertzberg for this honor and for his strong support of CSUN. This annual recognition of women from every corner of California is a powerful acknowledgement of the vital role women play in elevating lives, communities and businesses across the state.”

The Woman of the Year event was founded in 1987 by Assemblywoman Bev Hansen (R) and Assemblywoman Sally Tanner (D).  In celebration of the contributions to society made by remarkable women throughout California, they arranged to invite one woman from each Senate and Assembly district to come to the Capitol and be honored for their accomplishments.

Media Contact: Katie Hanzlik
Press Secretary
Senator Robert M. Hertzberg
Capitol Building, Room 313
(916) 651-4018